HEAD Coach Rhys Lovegrove has named a 30-man squad for this weekend’s Joe Phillips Memorial Trophy fixture against the Bradford Bulls.

With this being the Cougars first action for 370 days, Lovegrove is keen to give all players within his first team squad game time ahead of the return to competitive action next weekend against the London Broncos in the First Round of this season’s Betfred Challenge Cup.

As a result, Rhys has named all available players in the squad for the trip to Dewsbury’s Tetley’s Stadium.

The 30-man squad includes Jack Arnold, who is free to play for the time in 19 months after the RFL granted him amnesty from the remainder of his suspension as a result of Covid-19, as well as 9 new signings and 3 trialists.

Amongst the new faces and trialists though is a piece of history, as a father and son will line up alongside each other in Cougars colours in the shape of Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e and 17-year-old son Phoenix.

‘PLT’, a full-back by trade similar to his father, comes to club from the academy at Leicester Tigers Rugby Union and is one of the three trialists looking to impress this Saturday afternoon.

Also hoping to make a mark and earn a deal with the club are Keighley Albion product Josh Slingsby, recently released by Wakefield, and a familiar face to Cougars fans in the shape of Aidan Scully.

Scully made a first-team appearance for the club against Workington Town during the 2017 season and remained with the reserves side until the end of the 2018 season when he departed to join NCL outfit Stanningley.

The large squad named leaves only three absentees who are Wellington Albert (Ankle), Jake Webster (Paternity Leave), and Spencer Darley (Shielding).

Wellington underwent a successful operation on Sunday and is now at home recuperating, whilst Jake and Spencer are both expected to return to training in the coming weeks.


1 – Quentin Laulu Togaga’e
Sponsored by Bedspredz Poultry

2 – Mo Agoro
Sponsored by The Impact Crew

4 – Taylor Prell
Sponsored by Ultimate Commercial Interiors

5 – Robert Matamosi
Sponsored by Maz & Hazel

7 – Jack Miller
Sponsored by Clever Energy Boilers

8 – Jack Coventry
Sponsored by Aalto Fire Ltd

9 – Kyle Kesik
Sponsored by Keith Baird

10 – Dalton Desmond-Walker
Sponsored by Mrs Beryl Rothera

11 – Jason Muranka
Sponsored by Victoria Harrison Podiatry

12 – Dan Parker
Sponsored by Lucy, Sean & Ella Barrett

13 – Aaron Levy
Sponsored by Tim Powell Associates

14 – Ryan Wright
Sponsored by Lee, Vicky, Nigel & Iain

15 – Scott Murrell
Sponsored by Former HXRLFC Executive Committee

17 – Dan Hawksworth
Sponsored by Andy Lyle Electrical Services

19 – Billy Gaylor
Sponsored by John & Mary Petty

20 – Brenden Santi
Sponsored by Mr & Mrs Senior

21 – Alfie Seeley
Sponsored by Tim Powell Associates

22 – Alix Stephenson
Sponsored by Senior Electrical & Security

23 – Matthew Bailey
Sponsored by Keighley Cougars Supporters Club

24 – Kieran Moran
Sponsored by Graham, Zayba & Kian Robinson

25 – Ben Stead
Sponsored by Phil Robinson

26 – Bobby Darbyshire
Sponsored by The Old Boys

27 – Jack Arnold
Sponsored by Paul Wilson

28 – Josh Lynam
Sponsored by Lynam & Leighton

29 – Zach Braham
Sponsored by Keith & Sheila Moore

30 – Morgan Robinson
Sponsored by Hazel 4D

31 – Charlie Graham
Sponsored In Memory of Dorothy Webster

32 – Aidan Scully

33 – Phoenix Laulu-Togaga’e

34 – Josh Slingsby

By Joshua Chapman